Reforming my inner plant killer

I am a renowned plant killer.

This someecards card could have my face on it.  Or at least it would have up until recently.

I learned this skill from my mother who also could not keep an indoor plant alive (outdoor plants were a struggle too).

This despite my grandfather and I having a garden in our backyard where we grew vegetables (okay, mostly onions and string beans because they could grow despite the crummy soil). And despite my Mom’s Mom being able to grow anything. She would come over to fix my mother’s gardens (true story), although now Alzheimer’s has caused her to also start killing all her plants too.

When I was working at the Hospice, one of the staff always cared for the plants. She went on vacation and told two of us to water them in ho[es that one of us would do it. We both did. Whoops.

When I was in Nuc Med, we had a class Christmas cactus. It died. Cactuses die too.  In my defense, I wasn’t alone in causing this death either.

So, by the time I got married, I declared my home a plant free zone.

Although, I did always want an aloe plant. I love aloe plants.

Patrick bought me this cute little flower plant my last year in med school. I somehow, despite many close calls did not kill the sucker.

We had to leave it there because we didn’t think it would survive the drive and boat ride in our very, very packed car.

So, after a year of no plants, Patrick bought me a rose plant. Because it can’t kill the cat if he chooses to chew on it (which he would). And because we can’t have aloe plants because they can kill the cat (sad face).

I told him that between the cat and I, it would die. Surely, it would.

But, here we are, a good 8 or so months later and the plant is still alive. In fact, it has grown. It hasn’t bloomed, but it has grown.

My rose plant in a new, more roomy and less leaky pot.

My rose plant in a new, more roomy and less leaky pot.

I’m evolving.

So, Patrick bought me an orchid (that is purple and beautiful and clashes terribly with our décor).IMG_0006

This brings me up to two plants.

So, yesterday, we were at Canadian Tire in the pouring rain waiting for them to fix our tire with an air leak. Turns out, there was a drill bit in it.   Anyway, it is far to rainy to walk to get coffee, so we were left wandering Canadian Tire and hoping we didn’t need to buy a new tire when I remember I wanted to get a plant for the rose bush thing because iti s still in the cheap plastic pot with pink foil around it.

So, I buy a pot. And some new soil.

And then we see the seeds and I comment that I always wanted to grow herbs.

So, what did we do?

We didn’t buy herbs.

We bought cat grass.

Yes, a plant of the cat’s freaking own.

So, this afternoon, I channeled everything I ever remember my grandmother telling me and I repotted my rose plant. And I planted the cat grass. And I remembered to give the orchid its weekly water.

IMG_0005

The pot of potential cat grass.

I haven’t killed the plants. And I haven’t killed the cat.

I am making progress.

And our house is becoming green.

When the weather gets better, we are seriously considering maybe growing some chives or coriander and maybe even some small vegetables or somethings delicious like that.

Maybe soon I’ll be a reformed plant killer.  It is still far too soon to tell.

9 thoughts on “Reforming my inner plant killer

  1. In my area I can buy cat grass already grown about 8 inches tall. It takes an hour for 4 cats to mow it down to 3 inches! It continues to grow and they continue to munch until one day it’s time to buy a new one! Good luck with your new found skill.

    • I think we can buy cat grass somewhere around here too, I’m sure. I rented a room in a place when I was traveling on electives in med school where the person had a whole cat garden of sorts.
      If the growing attempt fails, maybe we’ll buy him a treat.

  2. Ha! This made me laugh. I also didn’t inherit my grandmother’s green thumb. I seem to have a BLACK thumb and I kill everything too. I usually manage to even kill philodendrum plants and they are supposed to be one of those plants that are unkillable. I’ve killed aloe too. We have a local nursery that sells venus fly trap plants yearly and when my boys were younger, we bought each of them one. But the darn things were tiny and wouldn’t eat the flys we enticed them with. They died too. I’ve bought four venus fly trap plants over th years and managed to kill them all (well a squirrel ate one so that didn’t count). I gave up on them. All the plants in my house are silk!

    Good luck on the cat grass and the rose plant!!

    • Well, I’m glad I’m not alone on the plant killing front.
      It seems like people either have the gift of green thumbs, or they don’t. I’m still not sure how this trial of developing a green thumb will go.
      I am, however, fascinated by the venus fly trap plants. I can’t believe you can buy them and that you had some!! Too bad that they died.

  3. I’ve never been a plant person – I managed to kill an orchid (which I hear is a pretty difficult task). I’m glad you’re slowly making your house more green! Maybe there’s hope for me.

  4. Funny! I use to think I couldn’t grow anything. Now, I have plants everywhere. In fact I treat some like children. I can tell the ones who hate being inside in the winter. When I get to put them out it is like watching them spring up with life. You can do this! Place rocks or shells in the bottom of a pot if it has a hole. Throw some dirt in it. Dig a hole big enough for the plant. Throw some dirt around it. Water it. Give it some sun. Talk to it. Watch it grow! God does what we can’t. LOL!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! Plants are or, at least, should be kind of simple. My problem is that I tend to forget the watering or sun part intermittently. That is when the plant starts to forget to do the whole growing thing.

  5. Pingback: We have a flower! | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

