Weekend library

This weekend, I hit up the big-university-that-my-residency-is-based-out-of’s library.  I love libraries and this one is no exception.  It was also surprisingly empty.  I blamed first week back to school.  The next day, Patrick and I checked out our city’s newest big fancy library and I figured out where all the students were (and half the city, I swear)… In the library.

My university library adventure was brought about due to a need for massive productivity.  Lots of presentations, studying and prep for interviews on the go these days.  My project of the day (really, this past week) has been a presentation on cannabis in cancer care.  Yes, medical marijuana.  Patrick keeps making note of how crazy that is.

It was too bad my presentation got postponed due to a scheduling blip.

The other odd part about university library is hot.  I have never been in a university library that was warm.  They are always cold.  I think they were compensating for the cold snap earlier in the week and had failed to return the heat to the usual “cool” level.  Big city library was hot too, but it was due to the droves of people (that I kept complaining “probably didn’t even really like books”).

Since coffee has finally stopped inducing vomiting, I got a hot beverage before going in to the library (I should have picked a cold beverage).  I tried a Flat White for the first time.

Life lesson… If you have been off caffeine for awhile and your fetus is not used to caffeine, a flat white is an interesting place to start (don’t judge me, “no caffeine during pregnancy puritans”).  The kid bounced around for a good hour or two after that.  It took me a while to figure out why.  I must say, it was pretty good, but to be honest, not something I would hunt down again (especially not during pregnancy).

Big city library has a cafe in it too.  It is a dream to me.  Library with built in cafe.  I just need to get rid of the droves of people.

While at university library, I was peacefully reading crazy details about the intricacies of taking marijuana when a piece of ceiling fell beside me.  It happens at my house and now at the library too.  It was a  small pice.  More a large paint chip.  I considered moving, but I opted to stay.  Classy, big university library.  Charge people thousands and thousands of dollars and have a ceiling losing bits (not much unlike my apartment, come to think of it).

I love libraries of all kinds.  Although crowded ones are my least favourite kinds. At least the city is full of cafes I can work at too (especially now that the coffee smell doesn’t kill me softly).  But, maybe the university library will stay on the empty side a bit longer thanks to the draw of fancy library, so I can hide out there a bit more.  Maybe. But probably not.

Please, share your thoughts!

